About the Center

Past Brechner Freedom of Information Award Winners

2023: Brett Murphy, ProPublica
News release
Q&A and brief video

2022: Hannah Dreier and Andrew Ba Tran, The Washington Post

2021: Reuters

2020: Kaiser Health News

2019: The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

2018: The Oregonian

2017: Sandra Chance, Brechner Center Director

2016: Miami Herald

2015: The Los Angeles Times

2014: The Ledger (Lakeland)

2013: The Associated Press

2012: The News & Observer

2010: Asbury Park Press

2009: Detroit Free Press

2008: The Knoxville News-Sentinel

2007: Dan Christensen and Patrick Danner, Miami Herald

2006: Paisley Dodds, The Associated Press

2005: Argus Leader

2004: Dan Christensen, Miami Daily Business Review

2003: Seth Rosenfeld, San Francisco Chronicle

2002: Stephen Kiernan, The Burlington Free Press

2001: Griffin Smith, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette

2000: Gannett New Jersey Newspaper Group

1999: Seven Indiana Newspapers: The Evansville Courier, The Journal Gazette, South Bend Tribune, The Indianapolis Star/News, The Star Press,
Tribune Star, The Times of Northwest Indiana

1998: Paul D’Ambrosio, The Asbury Park Press

1997: Evelyn Larrubia and Scott Glover, Sun-Sentinel

1996: Peter Kovacs, The Times-Picayune

1995: Allan Wolper, Editor and Publisher

1994: Howard Swindle and Thomas G. Watts, The Dallas Morning News

1993: Dianna Hunt, The Houston Chronicle

1992: Susan Taylor Martin, Bob Port, Chuck Murphy, David Barstow and Richard Bockman, St Petersburg Times

1991: Wayne Nicholas, Bolivar Commercial

1990: Toby J. McIntosh, Bureau of National Affairs

1989: Elsa Walsh and Benjamin Weiser, The Washington Post

1988: Steve McGonigle, The Dallas Morning News

1987: John Wicklein, Columbia Journalism Review

1986: Anthony Marro, Columbia Journalism Review